I just received a ticket for driving without a license and I just want to know what the penalties will be. Im a minor and I live in Ohio. Thanks.
Thank you for asking Albert.
Chapter 4507 of the Ohio Revised Code (ORC) which includes the Driver’s License Law for OH, states that no individual shall allow the operation of a motor vehicle upon any public or private property used by the public for purposes of vehicular travel or parking knowing the operator does not have a valid driver’s license issued to the operator by the registrar of motor vehicles.
If you get caught driving without a license you are guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree. Driving without ever being licensed may result to being fined of up to $1000 and jail time of up to 180 days. Since you are a minor there will likely a delay in you being able to receive an OH learner’s permit or license.
To get more information about your conviction and the penalties you may receive, you may call the court listed on your ticket and also contact the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).